For the past few weeks I have felt like I was stuck on an escalator. 

It’s not that I don’t know where I want to go.  I do.  It’s not that I don’t know how to get there.  I do.  It just feels like someone has turned off the power and I’m stuck.  Ever been there?
 

stuck on escalator video 

Stuck on an escalator? WATCH THIS

If you are in the workplace for any reason, you know that the recession, depression, dip, temporary lapse in economic good times is still very real.  We’re in a very slow recovery and potentially in the midst of profound change in how the world does business.  So that could explain my sense of powerlessness. 

But what I’m talking about is when I lose that personal power that moves me along my life track.  I lose that “I think I can, I think I can” storybook belief that all my efforts will result in advancement.

Like the couple in the video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47rQkTPWW2I&feature=related) I could get mad, huff and puff, and wait to be rescued.  However, waiting for the repairmen really didn’t help much, now did it?  The help I need is inside me. 

I need to discover what I’m telling myself (that noisy self-talk) that’s preventing me from taking the next step even when the whole world seems to have stopped.

  • What don’t I see that everyone else does? 
  • What do I believe that about myself that no longer serves me well?
  • What “story” do I tell myself about the other people on the escalator with me?

Tough questions but the answers are priceless. 

Sometimes I need the help of an expert.  I have a coach and one of the roles of my coach is to help me see my “blind spots”.  He also helps me see where I have “hidden strengths”.  I need to ask for help…not the “waiting to be rescued” kind of help…but someone to come along side and run with me until I pickup speed again.

Mostly I just need to get on with it.   I can have my temper tantrum, curse the escalator repairman’s union, but I still need to start walking.  Just start walking.  I guess that why I have always like this quote by Thoreau. 

If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams,
and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined,
he will meet with success unexpected in common hours.

Henry David Thoreau

Hope all the escalators you encounter today are working but if they are not…just keep walking.

Linda

Linda K Sommer, MBA
Success Savvy LLC
www.successsavvy.com

